Ranking System

Each species assessed in the Wild Species reports received a rank in each province, territory, or ocean region in which they are known to be present, as well as an overall national rank for Canada. These ranks represent the conservation status of the species, based on the best available knowledge. Starting from the Wild Species 2015 report, the National General Status Working Group is using the ranking system of NatureServe.

 

RankCategoryDescription

 

Geographic scale

N
NationalIndicates a rank at the national level in Canada.
S
SubnationalIndicates a rank at the level of a province, territory, or ocean region in Canada.

 

Conservation status

X
Presumed ExtirpatedSpecies is believed to be extirpated from the jurisdiction (nation, province, territory, or ocean region). Not located despite intensive searches of historical sites and other appropriate habitat, and virtually no likelihood that it will be rediscovered.
H
Possibly ExtirpatedKnown from only historical records but still some hope of rediscovery. There is evidence that the species may no longer be present in the jurisdiction, but not enough to state this with certainty. Examples of such evidence include: (1) that a species has not been documented in approximately 20-40 years despite some searching and/or some evidence of significant habitat loss or degradation; (2) that a species has been searched for unsuccessfully, but not thoroughly enough to presume that it is no longer present in the jurisdiction.
1
Critically ImperiledAt very high risk of extirpation in the jurisdiction due to very restricted range, very few populations or occurrences, very steep declines, severe threats, or other factors.
2
ImperiledAt high risk of extirpation in the jurisdiction due to restricted range, few populations or occurrences, steep declines, severe threats, or other factors.
3
VulnerableAt moderate risk of extirpation in the jurisdiction due to a fairly restricted range, relatively few populations or occurrences, recent and widespread declines, threats, or other factors.
4
Apparently SecureAt a fairly low risk of extirpation in the jurisdiction due to an extensive range and/or many populations or occurrences, but with possible cause for some concern as a result of local recent declines, threats, or other factors.
5
SecureAt very low or no risk of extirpation in the jurisdiction due to a very extensive range, abundant populations or occurrences, with little to no concern from declines or threats.
U
UnrankableCurrently unrankable due to lack of information or due to substantially conflicting information about status or trends.
NR
UnrankedNational or subnational conservation status not yet assessed.
NA
Not ApplicableA conservation status rank is not applicable because the species is not a suitable target for conservation activities. It includes exotic species (that have been moved beyond their natural range as a result of human activity), hybrids, or long distance migrants (accidental species occurring infrequently and unpredictably outside their usual range).

 

Qualifier

?
Inexact Numeric RankDenotes inexact numeric rank. This designation should not be used with any of the X, H, U, NR or NA conservation status ranks.
B
BreedingConservation status refers to the breeding population of the species in the nation, province, territory, or ocean region.
N
NonbreedingConservation status refers to the non-breeding population of the species in the nation, province, territory, or ocean region.
M
MigrantConservation status refers to the migrant population of the species in the nation, province, territory, or ocean region.

 

The geographic scale is written first, followed by the conservation status, followed by the qualifier if necessary. For example, N5B means a national rank of secure that covers only the breeding population of the species. For example, N5? means a national rank of secure that is uncertain. The majority of ranks do not have qualifiers, such as N5 for example.

Range ranks can also be used. For example, N2N3 means that the national rank of the species in Canada is between imperiled and vulnerable. For example, N1N3 means that the national rank of the species in Canada is between critically imperiled and vulnerable. Range ranks are applied only for numerical conservation status and are used to indicate any range of uncertainty about the status of the species. Ranges cannot skip more than two ranks (NU is used rather than N1N4).

For more information on the NatureServe ranking system, please consult the website and documentation of NatureServe. For information about the previous ranking system used by the National General Status Working Group, please consult the Wild Species 2010 report.

Système de classification

Chaque espèce évaluée dans les rapports Espèces sauvages a reçu un rang dans chaque province, territoire ou région océanique dans lesquels leur présence est attestée, ainsi qu’un rang à l’échelle nationale au Canada. Ces rangs représentent le statut de conservation de l’espèce, basé selon les meilleures connaissances disponibles. À partir du rapport Espèces sauvages 2015, le Groupe de travail national sur la situation générale utilise le système de classification de NatureServe.

 

RangCatégorieDescription

 

Échelle géographique

N
NationalIndique un rang à l’échelle nationale au Canada.
S
SubnationalIndique un rang à l’échelle d’une province, d’un territoire, ou d’une région océanique au Canada.

 

Statut de conservation

X
Présumée disparueL’espèce est soupçonnée être disparue de la juridiction (nation, province, territoire, ou région océanique). Pas localisée malgré d’intensives recherches dans les sites historiques et d’autres habitats appropriés, et pratiquement pas de chance d’être redécouverte.
H
Possiblement disparueConnue seulement à partir d’observations historiques, mais avec de l’espoir d’être redécouverte. Il existe des indices que l’espèce pourrait ne plus être présente dans la juridiction, mais pas assez pour l’affirmer avec certitude. Ces indices incluent par exemple: (1) que l’espèce n’a pas été documentée depuis approximativement 20-40 ans, malgré quelques recherches et/ou quelques preuves de pertes ou dégradations significatives de l’habitat; (2) que des recherches infructueuses ont été menées pour l’espèce, mais pas de façon assez systématique pour présumer qu’elle n’est plus présente dans la juridiction.
1
Gravement en périlÀ très haut risque de disparition de la juridiction suite à une répartition très restreinte, à très peu de populations ou d’occurrences, à de très forts déclins, à des menaces sévères, ou d’autres facteurs.
2
En périlÀ haut risque de disparition de la juridiction suite à une répartition restreinte, à peu de populations ou d’occurrences, à de forts déclins, à des menaces sévères, ou d’autres facteurs.
3
VulnérableÀ risque modéré de disparition de la juridiction suite à une répartition assez restreinte, à relativement peu de populations ou d’occurrences, à des déclins récents et généralisés, à des menaces, ou d’autres facteurs.
4
Apparemment en sécuritéÀ risque assez bas de disparition de la juridiction suite à une vaste répartition et/ou plusieurs populations ou occurrences, mais ayant des causes possibles de préoccupations résultant de déclins locaux récents, de menaces, ou d’autres facteurs.
5
En sécuritéÀ très faible ou absence de risque de disparition de la juridiction suite à une très vaste répartition, à des populations ou occurrences abondantes, avec peu ou pas de préoccupations résultant de déclins ou de menaces.
U
InclassablePrésentement inclassable suite à un manque d’informations ou suite à des informations montrant des contradictions substantielles sur le statut ou les tendances.
NR
Non classéeÉvaluation du statut de conservation national ou subnational pas encore réalisée.
NA
Non applicableUn statut de conservation n’est pas applicable parce que l’espèce n’est pas une cible appropriée pour des activités de conservation. Cela inclut les espèces exotiques (qui ont été déplacées au-delà de leur aire de répartition naturelle suite à des activités humaines), les hybrides, ou les migrateurs sur de longues distances (espèces accidentelles se trouvant peu souvent et de manière imprévisible à l’extérieur de leur aire de répartition habituelle).

 

Qualificatif

?
Rang numérique inexactDénote un rang numérique inexact. Cette désignation ne devrait pas être utilisée avec tous les rangs X, H, U, NR ou NA des statuts de conservation.
B
ReproductiveLe statut de conservation réfère à la population reproductive de l’espèce dans la nation, la province, le territoire, ou la région océanique.
N
Non reproductiveLe statut de conservation réfère à la population non reproductive de l’espèce dans la nation, la province, le territoire, ou la région océanique.
M
MigratriceLe statut de conservation réfère à la population migratrice de l’espèce dans la nation, la province, le territoire, ou la région océanique.

 

L’échelle géographique s’écrit en premier, suivi du statut de conservation, suivi du qualificatif si nécessaire. Par exemple, N5B signifie un rang national en sécurité qui couvre seulement la population reproductive de l’espèce. Par exemple, N5? signifie un rang national en sécurité, mais incertain. La majorité des rangs n’ont pas de qualificatifs, comme par exemple N5.

Des rangs variables peuvent aussi être utilisés. Par exemple, N2N3 signifie que le rang national de l’espèce au Canada est entre en péril et vulnérable. Par exemple, N1N3 signifie que le rang national de l’espèce au Canada est entre gravement en péril et vulnérable. Les rangs variables sont appliqués seulement pour les statuts de conservation numériques et sont utilisés pour indiquer l’étendue de l’incertitude pour le statut d’une espèce. Les rangs variables ne peuvent pas dépasser plus de deux rangs (NU est utilisé au lieu de N1N4).

Pour plus d’informations sur le système de classification de NatureServe, svp consultez le site web et la documentation de NatureServe. Pour de l’information sur l’ancien système de classification utilisé par le Groupe de travail national sur la situation générale, svp consultez le rapport Espèces sauvages 2010.