24% of vascular plants are exotic in Canada

Photo: Canada Thistle, Cirsium arvense © Edward Willet

Photo: Canada Thistle, Cirsium arvense © Edward Willet

One of the issues highlighted in the Wild Species reports is the large number of non-native species in Canada. Exotic species are species that have been moved beyond their natural range as a result of human activity. Exotic species have thus been introduced to Canada, both deliberately and accidentally, from around the world. In addition, exotic species can also include native species that have been moved from regions of the country in which they traditionally occur, to regions in which they are not naturally found (to another province or territory for example). Whether from abroad, or from a different part of Canada, exotic species can cause problems for native species in a variety of ways, including competition for space and resources, predation, hybridization and introduction of new diseases.

The ranking system used by the National General Status Working Group includes a category specifically for the exotic species. Exotic species have been purposefully excluded from all other categories so that we are able to track them. In the Wild Species 2010 report, of the 11,950 species assessed, a total of 1426 species were exotic at the national level in Canada. Most of the exotic species were vascular plants (1252 species), representing 89% of all exotic species assessed in the report. Vascular plants have the highest proportion of exotic species of any other groups covered in this report: 24% of species of vascular plants established in the wild in Canada are exotic. Other taxonomic groups with many exotic species were the spiders (70 species) and the ground beetles (54 species). The list of all the scientific names of these exotic species can be found in the databases of the Wild Species reports, available on this website.

 

Number of exotic species established in Canada for the taxonomic groups assessed in the Wild Species 2010 report.
Taxonomic groupNumber of exotic species
Macrolichens
1
Mosses
4
Vascular plants
1252
Freshwater mussels
0
Spiders
70
Dragonflies and damselflies
0
Predaceous diving beetles
0
Ground beetles
54
Lady beetles
7
Bumble bees
0
Black flies
0
Horse flies
0
Mosquitoes
3
Selected macromoths
7
Butterflies
2
Crayfishes
2
Amphibians
0
Reptiles
2
Birds
11
Mammals
11
TOTAL
1426

 

Governments in Canada are collaborating and have developed a national strategy on exotic species, called An Invasive Alien Species Strategy for Canada. This national strategy plays an important role in preventing new invasions, detecting and responding to new invasive alien species and in managing established invasive alien species through eradication, containment and control. The species that are ranked as exotic by the National General Status Working Group in the Wild Species reports could be used in this strategy. The Wild Species reports represent one of the most comprehensive sources of information to identify which exotic species are present in Canada. The strategy can use the Wild Species reports to do further analysis on the impact these exotic species have on our ecosystems. Other initiatives, such as the Plants of Canada Database website, which uses the information from the Wild Species reports as a starting point, are targeting specifically the vascular plants.

24% des plantes vasculaires sont exotiques au Canada

Photo: Chardon des champs, Cirsium arvense © Edward Willett

Photo: Chardon des champs, Cirsium arvense © Edward Willett

Le grand nombre d'espèces non indigènes au Canada constitue l'une des questions mises en évidence dans les rapports Espèces sauvages. Les espèces exotiques sont des espèces que des activités anthropiques ont déplacées au-delà de leur aire de répartition naturelle. Les espèces exotiques ont donc été introduites au Canada, intentionnellement ou non, de partout dans le monde. De plus, les espèces exotiques peuvent également inclure des espèces indigènes qui ont été déplacées de régions du pays où elles se retrouvent traditionnellement, vers des régions où elles ne se trouvaient pas naturellement (vers une autre province ou un territoire par exemple). Qu'elles proviennent de l'étranger ou d'un autre endroit du Canada, les espèces exotiques risquent de nuire aux espèces indigènes d'une variété de façons, y compris par la compétition pour l'espace et les ressources, la prédation, l'hybridation et l'introduction de nouvelles maladies.

Le système de classification utilisé par le Groupe de travail national sur la situation générale inclut une catégorie spécifiquement pour les espèces exotiques. Les espèces exotiques ont été délibérément exclues de toutes les autres catégories afin de nous permettre de les suivre. Dans le rapport Espèces sauvages 2010, sur les 11 950 espèces évaluées, au total 1426 espèces étaient exotiques à l'échelle nationale au Canada. La plupart des espèces exotiques étaient des plantes vasculaires (1252 espèces), représentant 89% de toutes les espèces exotiques évaluées dans le rapport. Les plantes vasculaires possèdent la proportion la plus élevée d'espèces exotiques de tous les groupes couverts dans ce rapport : 24% des espèces de plantes vasculaires établies dans la nature au Canada sont exotiques. Les autres groupes taxonomiques qui présentent de nombreuses espèces exotiques étaient les araignées (70 espèces) et les carabes (54 espèces). La liste de tous les noms scientifiques de ces espèces exotiques peut être trouvée dans les bases de données des rapports Espèces sauvages, disponibles sur ce site web.

 

Nombre d'espèces exotiques établies au Canada pour les groupes taxonomiques évalués dans le rapport Espèces sauvages 2010.
Groupe taxonomiqueNombre d'espèces exotiques
Macro lichens
1
Mousses
4
Plantes vasculaires
1252
Moules d'eau douce
0
Araignées
70
Libellules et demoiselles
0
Dytiques
0
Carabes
54
Coccinelles
7
Bourdons
0
Mouches noires
0
Mouches à cheval
0
MoMoustiques
3
Certains papillons de nuit
7
Papillons
2
Écrevisses
2
Amphibiens
0
Reptiles
2
Oiseaux
11
Mammifères
11
TOTAL
1426

 

Les gouvernements au Canada collaborent et ont développés une stratégie nationale sur les espèces exotiques, appelée la Stratégie nationale sur les espèces exotiques envahissantes. Cette stratégie joue un rôle important dans la prévention des nouvelles invasions, dans la détection des nouvelles espèces exotiques envahissantes et dans l'intervention à cet égard, ainsi que dans la gestion des espèces exotiques envahissantes établies, et ce, par l'éradication, le confinement et le contrôle. Les espèces qui sont classées exotiques par le Groupe de travail national sur la situation générale dans les rapports Espèces sauvages pourraient être utilisées dans cette stratégie. Les rapports Espèces sauvages représentent l'une des sources d'informations les plus complètes pour identifier quelles espèces exotiques sont présentes au Canada. La stratégie peut utiliser les rapports Espèces sauvages afin de faire d'autres analyses sur les impacts que ces espèces exotiques ont sur nos écosystèmes. D'autres initiatives, comme le site web Base de données des plantes du Canada, qui utilise les informations des rapports Espèces sauvages comme point de départ, ciblent spécifiquement les plantes vasculaires.