The majority of species in Canada are secure

Photo: Moose, Alces americanus © Colin Pacitti

Photo: Moose, Alces americanus © Colin Pacitti

The overall results of the Wild Species reports show that the majority of species in Canada are secure. In fact, when excluding species ranked as extinct, extirpated, undetermined, not assessed, exotic, and accidental, 77% of the species assessed in the Wild Species 2010 report have a national conservation rank of secure in Canada. This number varies considerably among taxonomic groups. The species groups that have the lowest percentage of species ranked as secure are the reptiles (33%) and freshwater mussels (39%). At the opposite, ground beetles (88%), bumblebees (94%), mosquitoes (95%) and predaceous diving beetles (98%) are the taxonomic groups that have the highest percentage of species ranked as secure. However, the taxonomic groups with a high percentage of secure also reflect our lack of knowledge, since the majority of species in these groups are undetermined or not assessed, and these ranks are not included in the calculation of the percentages.

The proportion of species that are secure in the Wild Species 2010 report is comparable to the previous reports of the series. In the first report, Wild Species 2000, 74% of species were secure, and in the second report, Wild Species 2005, 70% of species were secure. The differences are mainly explained by the increase in the number of taxonomic groups assessed in each report. The Wild Species 2000 report assessed a total of 1670 species, the Wild Species 2005 report assessed a total of 7732 species, and the Wild Species 2010 report assessed a total of 11 950 species.

The Wild Species 2010 report represents a huge achievement, by publishing the results for all species in 20 taxonomic groups, including macro lichens, mosses, vascular plants, freshwater mussels, spiders, odonates, predaceous diving beetles, ground beetles, lady beetles, bumblebees, black flies, horse flies, mosquitoes, some selected macro moths, butterflies, crayfishes, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals. The most species-rich regions are Ontario (6995 species), British Columbia (6841 species) and Quebec (6150 species), due to the variation in climate and geology that provide diverse habitats in which different species can survive. The total number of species found in each province and territory varies, but overall the percentage of species that are secure is similar across Canada.

Bar graph showing the number of species in each status category in Canada and in each province and territory.

Results of the general status assessments for all species in the Wild Species 2010 report. The code "CA" represents the national ranks in Canada, and the other codes represent the regional ranks for each province, territory, and ocean region.

Based on the results of the Wild Species 2010 report, Environment Canada has released an indicator on the general status of species in Canada. This indicator represents a measure of the state of biodiversity in Canada. Other information on the biodiversity of Canada can also be found on the biodivcanada.ca website.

La majorité des espèces sont en sécurité au Canada

Photo: Orignal, Alces americanus © Colin Pacitti

Photo: Orignal, Alces americanus © Colin Pacitti

Les résultats généraux des rapports Espèces sauvages montrent que la majorité des espèces sont en sécurité au Canada. En effet, en excluant les espèces classées comme étant disparues, disparues de la région, indéterminées, non évaluées, exotiques, et occasionnelles, 77% des espèces évaluées dans le rapport Espèces sauvages 2010 sont en sécurité à l'échelle nationale au Canada. Ce nombre varie considérablement selon les groupes taxonomiques. Les groupes d'espèces qui enregistrent le plus faible pourcentage d'espèces en sécurité sont les reptiles (33%) et les moules d'eau douce (39%). Au contraire, les carabes (88%), les bourdons (94%), les moustiques (95%) et les dytiques (98%) sont les groupes taxonomiques qui présentent le pourcentage le plus élevé d'espèces en sécurité. Toutefois, les groupes taxonomiques ayant un fort pourcentage d'espèces en sécurité reflètent également notre manque de connaissances, puisque la majorité des espèces dans ces groupes sont indéterminées ou non évaluées, et ces rangs ne sont pas inclus dans le calcul des pourcentages.

La proportion d'espèces qui sont en sécurité dans le rapport Espèces sauvages 2010 est comparable aux rapports précédents de la série. Dans le premier rapport, Espèces sauvages 2000, 74% des espèces étaient en sécurité, et dans le second rapport, Espèces sauvages 2005, 70% des espèces étaient en sécurité. Les différences s'expliquent principalement par l'augmentation du nombre de groupes taxonomiques évalués dans chaque rapport. Le rapport Espèces sauvages 2000 a évalué un total de 1670 espèces, le rapport Espèces sauvages 2005 a évalué un total de 7732 espèces, et le rapport Espèces sauvages 2010 a évalué un total de 11 950 espèces.

Le rapport Espèces sauvages 2010 représente une réalisation extraordinaire en publiant les résultats pour toutes les espèces dans 20 groupes taxonomiques, incluant les macro lichens, les mousses, les plantes vasculaires, les moules d'eau douce, les araignées, les odonates, les dytiques, les carabes, les coccinelles, les bourdons, les mouches noires, les mouches à cheval, les moustiques, certains papillons de nuit, les papillons, les écrevisses, les amphibiens, les reptiles, les oiseaux, et les mammifères. Les régions les plus riches en espèces sont l'Ontario (6995 espèces), la Colombie-Britannique (6841 espèces) et le Québec (6150 espèces), en raison des variations climatiques et géologiques qui fournissent divers habitats dans lesquels différentes espèces peuvent survivre. Le nombre total d'espèces trouvées dans chaque province et territoire varie, mais de façon générale, le pourcentage d'espèces qui sont en sécurité est similaire partout au Canada.

Graphique à barre illustrant le nombre d'espèces assignées à chaque statut au Canada et dans chaque province et territoire.

Résultats des évaluations de la situation générale de toutes les espèces dans le rapport Espèces sauvages 2010. Le code « CA » représente les rangs nationaux au Canada, et les autres codes représentent les rangs régionaux pour chaque province, territoire, et région océanique.

 

À partir des résultats du rapport Espèces sauvages 2010, Environnement Canada a publié un indicateur sur la situation générale des espèces au Canada. Cet indicateur représente une mesure de l'état de la biodiversité au Canada. D'autres informations sur la biodiversité du Canada peuvent aussi être trouvées sur le site web biodivcanada.ca.