The most unknown groups of species assessed in the Wild Species reports

Photo: Goldenrod Crab Spider, Misumena vatia © Joanne Bovee

Photo: Goldenrod Crab Spider, Misumena vatia © Joanne Bovee

The knowledge on species in Canada is variable. For example, we generally have more information on the vertebrates, which include species such as birds, mammal, and amphibians, and we generally have less information on the invertebrates, which include species such as insects, spiders, corals, and others. These lesser-known taxonomic groups are important in the program on the General Status of Species in Canada, since they represent the majority of species.

When a taxonomic group is included in the Wild Speciesreports, the level of knowledge available is evaluated. In the text of the report, a section on the status of knowledge is included for each group of species. This section shortly describes the history of the research that was done on this taxonomic group in Canada, and the major topics that have mostly retain attention so far. The Wild Species reports thus inform on the conservation status of species, but also on the status of our knowledge.

The ranking system used by the National General Status Working Group includes a category to designate the species for which insufficient data, information, or knowledge is available to reliably evaluate their general status. This category is called "Undetermined". A similar category called "Not Assessed" is also used and designates species that are known or believed to be present regularly in Canada, but have not yet been assessed by the General Status program. In the Wild Species 2010 report, of the total 11,950 species assessed, 1618 species were ranked as undetermined or not assessed at the national level. The taxonomic groups that had the highest number of species ranked as undetermined or not assessed were the spiders (477 species), the ground beetles (260 species), the mosses (235 species) and the lichens (218 species). These taxonomic groups are also among those with the most species, so the following table presents the proportion for each specific group.

 

Proportion of species ranked as undetermined or not assessed at the national level in Canada in the Wild Species 2010 report.
Taxonomic group
Proportion of species with a rank of undetermined or not assessed
Bumble bees
61%
Lady beetles
40%
Spiders
35%
Ground beetles
28%
Macrolichens
25%
Mosses
23%
Predacious diving beetles
23%
Black flies
21%
Horse flies
16%
Mosquitoes
14%
Selected macromoths
12%
Dragonflies and damselflies
5%
Mammals
5%
Freshwater mussels
4%
Butterflies
4%
Vascular plants
3%
Reptiles
2%
Birds
1%
Crayfishes
0%
Amphibians
0%

 

Moreover, some taxonomic groups also currently have a level of knowledge too low to be considered for inclusion in the Wild Species reports. For example, there are many groups of invertebrates for which we are unable to build a species list in Canada. The lists of species represent the first step to enable the assessment of the conservation status. We hope that more information will become available for those groups as well. Without information on the status of these species, it is difficult to judge how the human uses affect the ecosystems and species. As the National General Status Working Group assesses species groups which are not well-known or not well-studied in Canada, the total proportion of species that receive ranks of undetermined or not assessed is likely to rise. One purpose of these reports is to encourage more information to be collected on species currently ranked as undetermined or not assessed.

Les groupes les moins connus d'espèces évalués dans les rapports Espèces sauvages

Photo: Thomise variable, Misumena vatia © Joanne Bovee

Photo: Thomise variable, Misumena vatia © Joanne Bovee

Les connaissances sur les espèces au Canada sont variables. Par exemple, nous avons généralement davantage d'informations sur les vertébrés, qui incluent des espèces comme les oiseaux, les mammifères, et les amphibiens, et nous avons généralement moins d'informations sur les invertébrés, qui incluent des espèces comme les insectes, les araignées, les coraux, et autres. Les groupes taxonomiques moins connus sont importants dans le programme sur la situation générale des espèces au Canada, car ils représentent la majorité des espèces.

Lorsqu'un groupe taxonomique est inclut dans les rapports Espèces sauvages, le niveau des connaissances disponibles est évalué. Dans le texte du rapport, une section sur l'état des connaissances est incluse pour chaque groupe d'espèces. Cette section décrit brièvement l'historique des recherches qui ont été réalisées sur ce groupe taxonomique au Canada, et les sujets principaux qui ont surtout retenus l'attention jusqu'à présent. Les rapports Espèces sauvages nous informent donc sur le statut de conservation des espèces, mais aussi sur le statut de nos connaissances.

Le système de classification utilisé par le Groupe de travail national sur la situation générale inclut une catégorie pour désigner les espèces pour lesquelles les données, les renseignements et les connaissances sont insuffisantes pour évaluer leur situation générale. Cette catégorie s'appelle « Indéterminée ». Une catégorie similaire appelée « Non évaluée » est aussi utilisée et désigne les espèces dont on sait ou croit qu'elles sont régulièrement présentes au Canada, mais qu'elles n'ont pas encore été évaluées dans le cadre du programme sur la situation générale. Dans le rapport Espèces sauvages 2010, sur le total des 11 950 espèces évaluées, 1618 espèces étaient classées indéterminées ou non évaluées à l'échelle nationale. Les groupes taxonomiques qui avaient le plus grand nombre d'espèces classées indéterminées ou non évaluées étaient les araignées (477 espèces), les carabes (260 espèces), les mousses (235 espèces) et les lichens (218 espèces). Ces groupes taxonomiques sont aussi parmi ceux qui avaient le plus d'espèces, donc le tableau suivant présente la proportion pour chaque groupe spécifique.

 

Proportion d'espèces classées indéterminées ou non évaluées à l'échelle nationale au Canada dans le rapport Espèces sauvages 2010.
Groupe taxonomique
Proportion d'espèces avec un rang indéterminé ou non évalué
Bourdons
61%
Coccinelles
40%
Araignées
35%
Carabes
28%
Macro lichens
25%
Mousses
23%
Dytiques
23%
Mouches noires
21%
Mouches à cheval
16%
Moustiques
14%
Certains papillons de nuit
12%
Libellules et demoiselles
5%
Mammifères
5%
Mousses d'eau douce
4%
Papillons
4%
Plantes vasculaires
3%
Reptiles
2%
Oiseaux
1%
Écrevisses
0%
Amphibiens
0%

 

De plus, certains groupes taxonomiques ont aussi présentement un niveau de connaissances qui est trop faible pour être inclus dans les rapports Espèces sauvages. Par exemple, il y a plusieurs groupes d'invertébrés pour lesquelles nous ne sommes pas en mesure de construire une liste d'espèces au Canada. Les listes d'espèces représentent la première étape qui permet l'évaluation du statut de conservation. Nous espérons que davantage d'informations seront également disponibles pour ces groupes. Sans informations sur la situation de ces espèces, il est difficile d'évaluer comment l'utilisation humaine affecte les écosystèmes et les espèces. Étant donné que le Groupe de travail national sur la situation générale évalue des groupes d'espèces peu connus et peu étudiés au Canada, la proportion d'espèces classées indéterminées et non évaluées sera susceptible d'augmenter. Un des objectifs de ces rapports est de favoriser davantage la collecte de données sur les espèces actuellement classées indéterminées ou non évaluées.